Iowa River trip

Hello

I am new to kayaking and still don’t have a kayak. But I grew up on the Chesapeake Bay and have had many boats ,both power and sail boats.

I am planning a trip from Iowa City to the Mississippi .

My plan is to do research this year and get a used Kayak this winter. Then practice in the spring and make the trip in late fall…

It’s 75 miles along the Iowa River . With plenty of places to stop and proper camping areas I estimate the trip will take three days .

Any advice would be appreciated

Invest in quality gear
The same goes for your kayak, pfd etc. 75miles in a rec boat in 3 days is going to be a hugh chore. Now in a nice sea kayak that 75miles is going to feel like gravy. Get out as much as possible and paddle to build your endurance or tolerance. Since you will be purchasing a kayak learn to pack small.

I would want more time to do the 75miles but that is me. Being rushed seems to be the way of the world, but on the water, I want to take my time to cherish the limited time I have there.

You said you’re new to the sport,
so you’ll want to learn how to do a self-rescue in the event of an unplanned swim.

There are ACA certified instructors in Iowa. You can find them at this link: http://www.americancanoe.org/?page=Find_Instructors

Hope it all comes together for you and you have a wonderful trip.

Gear
Thanks for the reply

I anymor used to exercise as I was an avid cyclist. But the upper body and different mussles will be getting a work out over winter. I have a good PFD and paddle. But I think I will get a second paddle just to have an extra.

I have small gear for bicycle camping and hope to utilize it for this trip.

I am looking forward to the practice. The first thing I want to learn is the roll. I have been watching videos and understand that it will take practice. My first instinct when capsize is to just get out. Swim the boat to shore and get everything back together.