Is adding ballast (to reduce tippy wobbles) a crutch for newbies?

OK, I think I already know the answer to this one, but thought I would toss it out there for discussion.

Background: I am 57, 6’4", 235#, but decently fit flexible guy. I am new to kayaking. But like previous hobbies, etc, I am all in once I decide to do something. I have a new waterfront cabin project on Orcas Island that needed a lot of work and commitment. That is mostly over and I now have time for paddling. I now own two used boats: a Romany Surf and a Dagger Stratos 14.5L. I have taken the Stratos out into the currents on the east side of Orcas in 1-2’ waves. I did Ok. I then tried the Romany and immediately plopped over on my side while exiting the beach on Doe Island. I felt super tippy and a wave just knocked me over. It was a good wake up call to what I am getting into!

The other day I spent a few hours on a lake with the Romany and did pretty well. As long as I am moving. Entering and exiting still feels super tippy. I did have an experienced paddler with me. I also now have a good dry suit. Shauna at Body Boat Blade did some cutting on the neck gasket to make it more comfortable.

All the reading I have done says all I really need is more time in the seat(s). I plan on using both boats to get used to them. I need to feel settled before taking friends and family out on the water from Orcas Island. My plan is use the Romany and have my guest use the Stratos. I will be super careful with conditions with guests though.

So, to the question: is adding any kind of ballast to the Romany a good idea while I get used to (and overcome) the tippy feeling?

It’s not a bad idea…
Especially if some of that ballast is donuts…

Instead of ballast, add camping gear and go exploring. Then no one can call it “cheating”.