Is it me or the paddle?

I’m new to kayaking. Only been out about 7 times now. I have a Wilderness Systems Tarpon 140 and love it except it turns like a battleship. Not complaining about that as it’s 14ft long and I expected it. I’m 6’5" 260lbs. My question is about paddles. When I got the kayak the guy recommended a Warner 240cm low angle touring paddle. After a few times on the water I felt it was to short. I found a Cannon fishing that’s adjustable. Took it out for the first time today and set it to 250cm. The length is great but it seems to take more effort to turn around in a cove. While cruising along I steer fine. Is it just me or can a paddle make that much of a difference trying to turn around?

I would say it’s your technique the Tarpon is not that bargy.
Have you taken any lessons?

3 Likes

Agree with gray…consider a lesson or two. My Tarpon 140 moves fine with me using a 230. At your height using a 230 or 240 should allow you to make that kayak dance once your paddling skills improve.

I am your size and use a 230 in my Tarpon 160. I think longer paddles put too much stress on your shoulders even when paddling correctly.
Tarpons will not turn on a dime, regardless of paddle length.
When I want to make a quick (oxymoron) turn, I grab the paddle blade with my pushing hand to make the longest possible sweep.

1 Like

Agree with string, shorter paddles are better.

6’ 2", paddle an Epic 18x rudder up, which loves to go straight and fast. Mostly use a 230cm BB Whisper. Definitely a large blade gives you more oomph on a sweep stroke than a thin blade.
I want to put miles on in a straight line most efficiently; IMO it doesn’t make sense to compromise that to optimize my ability to make sharp turns.