Is Rubio Monocoat the perfect coating for a Greenland Paddle?

New video from Cape Falcon Kayaks. No, I’ve not tried this product yet but I’m building 2 paddles this spring…

2 Likes

Might be worth a try. Me, I’m cheap and a bit lazy. I have Watco Teak Oil around anyway so that is what I use. I’ll rub it on & then wipe. I think that I had 3 - 4 coats initially until the wood didn’t seem to want to absorb any more. The stick is due for a light sand and re-coat when it gets warmer. 2020 will be its 5th year.

1 Like

Interesting video. I’m curious to read responses from folks who use this. I’m thinking about trying it on a cosmetic butcher block cabinet top first

I don’t know this product, but it seems it might be overly complicated. I’ve been using western red cedar paddles for many years, and never used a finish. Between the salt water and an occasional sanding they’ve held up fine - no failures in the wood. Recently I have started apply oil - but a simple food safe hemp oil. I started with my canoe paddles and gunwales, and then started using it on my Greenland sticks. All seem to be doing well.

This is a wipe/brush on, let sit for 15 to 20 minutes, then wipe off process. Depending on usage, I might do it at the start, mid and end of the season. One of the things I like about the food safe hemp oil is that I don’t have to wear gloves and there’s no issue with disposal of the rags.

Just a thought.

Although unlike Keith, I always finish my paddles, I have to agree with him that the process for Monocoat seems overly involved and fussy. That and the fact that you either have to spend a lot to get their accelerator or wait three weeks for the finish to cure is kind of a deal breaker for me. A simple tung oil and varnish blend is inexpensive, works well and is easy to maintain. Monocoat may work well on the woods they show in their demos (hardwood floors and tables), but it may not work as well on wood as soft as cedar.