Is Tandem Appropriate Choice?

Please accept that I am a complete newb, so I apologize in advance if my question is absurd (I did try to search old messages).

I would like to take up kayaking as a hobby for lakes and rivers around the southern coast of NC. I envision recreational excursions primarily, nothing more than a few hours. I have a wife and three children, any one of which may be interested in joining me sometimes.

I was wondering, is it practical to get a tandam kayak to enable me to go out with one of the wife or kids occasionally, but which is generally suitable for solo use most of the time? I don’t know if tandem kayaks are designed such as to be impractical for extended solo operation. Obviously the cost and transportation issues of two kayaks compared to one have me concerned.

If such a tandem kayak is practical, any suggestions of make/model for someone just starting out such as myself?

I appreciate any advice anyone has to offer.

What I did

– Last Updated: Jun-01-06 2:11 PM EST –

I was in the same position as you about 6 years ago. I bought a Tandem Hobie Oddysey Sit on Top. It's 14' and can hold two adults and a small child. You can set it up with a seat located in the center position and paddle it solo. It moves along just fine like this and I went on many trips of 5 -10 miles with other kayakers. After a while only one of my sons showed much interest in Kayaking and we got single kayaks. (We now have about 7 kayaks and waveskis) We kept the hobie for family trips and taking friends, son's girlfriends etc along. Recently I sold the used Hobie for about 85% of what I paid for it (it was slightly used when I bout it) so it was a bargain. I would not suggest buying a sink Tandem and paddling it solo as your first investment in Kayaking.

My first yak was a tandem

– Last Updated: Jun-01-06 1:16 PM EST –