Is this gelcoat chip worth fixing?

I’m new to composite ownership. This chip in the gelcoat is on the stern hull, smaller than a fingernail, and underneath is more gelcoat. But the edges have a clear ridge. Repair or wait and see?

I would. With a bit of research, it’s not hard to do.

You may (likely) find that when you begin to dig away the damaged material, the underlying structure is also compromised. You won’t know until beginning though. If it’s small, you could probably get away with just filling with gelcoat anyway but keep in mind that gelcoat isn’t intended to hold things together.

In my experience, gelcoat often chips away without damage to the composite structure underneath. Look inside the hull where the chip is. If it looks fine and feels solid, there’s nothing to worry about. As long as there’s still some gelcoat there covering the composite, I wouldn’t take the time to fuss with it. If the composite layers underneath are exposed, that’s when I’ll take the time to re-cover the little spot with gelcoat.

@tjalmy said:
I would. With a bit of research, it’s not hard to do.

I am with you! In a previous thread, several Paddling Pundits profess to covering up such defects with stickers and tape (well, not below the waterline) but you can’t paddle every day and small repairs like this are good practice on a rainy day.

Just checked the inside — no visible or tactile damage to the structure. I’m teaching myself gelcoat repair on a small ding on the deck that’s also cosmetic. My biggest fear in tackling the pictured chip is that my amateur sanding/finishing skills mess up the shape on a part of the boat that’s functional. Maybe that’s dumb?

Also, would I have to sand down to the fiberglass to get a surface for new gelcoat to hold to? Or if I roughed and cleaned the bottom layer of gelcoat, would the new patch adhere to it without exposing the structure?