ISO: Beginner Canoe Information

Hi All,

I am just getting into canoeing and have a few questions concerning what type of canoe I am looking for. Ideally I would like a canoe that functions suitably in whitewater and flatwater, and to use on short camping trips. So here goes some questions:

1. Specifically for whitewater is there a material that is preferred, something that can take a little more abuse.

2. Is there a length that is more suitable for all around canoeing (white and flat)?

3. I may be limited to buying used due to cost. Are there any hints you can give of what to look for in a used canoe (aside from obvious malformations)

Like I said, I am brand new to the sport, so any feedback to the questions or just general info will be a big help.

Thanks alot.

More info, please?
There are many here that are much more qualified to help than me. They’re going to want more info, though. I’m going to take a stab at it anyway based on what I THINK you want.

I think you want a SOLO canoe that can handle MILD white water up to class II. A boat designed for bigger water is going to be lousy on the lakes. Assuming I’m right, you’re going to want a Royalex canoe. Some may suggest that composites will work, too, but those are going to be expensive even used.

Look at the Mohawk Solo 14, the Mohawk Odyssey, the Bell Yellowstone Solo and Bell Rock Star if you’re a bigger guy.

I bought a Bell Yellowstone Solo and love it.

Thanks
I will be looking for a two man canoe. This type of boat looks comfortable and more versatile.

http://www.gowiththeflow.ie/products/mackinaw.jpg

What types of canoeing is this style suited for?

Forgot to add…

– Last Updated: Apr-13-10 10:46 PM EST –

Any used Royalex canoe is going to have lots of scratches. Buy a new one, use it once, and it too will have lots of scratches. If it's gouged through the outer colored layer, that more of a problem. It can probably be fixed, but I personally wouldn't buy it unless it was dirt cheap.