J stroke with a bent shaft???

I am getting a canoe and need to select paddles. I can only afford a couple of nicer paddles right now but don’t know what to get. I was thinking of getting myself a bent shaft paddle (I have never used one before) and a st for my wife who will rarely use it. Most of the time I will be paddling on flatwater rivers and lakes. I will probably be spending a good pint of time taking my kids in the boat who would not be contributing so I need something good for solo paddling. Do the bent shafts work well for solo? REI is putting all of their Bending Branches stuff on sale and I am looking at the espresso. One concern, though, is that I am a big guy and that espresso doesn’t come in the se longer lengths as the others. Any suggestions?

Since I started using a ZRE bent shaft
canoe paddle, I have never gone back to a straight shaft.

I can do every stroke as good or better then I did with the straight shaft including a J, and I believe you can rudder and pry even better wiith a bent shaft.

My opinion.

Others might think otherwise.

Jack L

me too
I agree with the last post wholeheartedly.

Like Jackl Says…
…J-stroking isn’t that difficult with a bent shaft. If you’re a beginner, well, I wouldn’t start with a bent. But once you learn to paddle, a bent is no problem. Even on rivers I prefer bents. Of course, I take straight shafts and use them occasionally. But I’ve found there are few things besides an underwater recovery that can’t be done with bent shafts. WW

Why?
Do you paddle from a seated position…in that case the bents provide the best chance for a vertical entry and exit from the water.

Your size does not matter.

Yes you can J.

I J
with mine, but for me it was harder than with a straight. They are better for sit and switch I feel.

They do work though, and like Jackl, I wouldn’t go back to a straight.

There are reasons bent shaft paddles