Just pulled a 17-foot Old Town Tripper? out of the weeds

Quite literally. It’s been sitting along side a house for years and years and was recently told, “Go for it. It’s yours.” I dragged it out into the sunlight and this is what I found.

Now the questions is: How do I fix it? There seems to have been a spot where the serial number used to be but is no longer. I think the previous owner was going for a storm-clouds-on-a-sunny-day motif looking at that paint job. That and I ripped off the fiberglass “patch job” with about as much effort as it takes to pull in a sunfish.

I think it’s a 70’s Tripper from what I can gather online. Which makes it a royalex canoe, correct? When I say that I am Brand New To This, I mean it. What do yall think?

Also, Hello! My name is Chris and I am currently living in New York State rebuilding a fiberglass camper for full-time living with the lady and in about a month we will be heading out to work on a wildlife refuge in New Mexico, where I plan on doing some paddling around. If I’m lucky, perhaps this Old Town will do the job.

How much time and money do you want to invest in this project? It can probably be repaired but you will need to invest a considerable amount of both to have it ready to go within a month.

Yes, it is Royalex.

I’d like it to not leak. I can deal with the aesthetics another day. But to get it water ready is my main objective.

The first thing I would do is try to ascertain that the hull has not become brittle. If it has, it may not be worth the investment in time and money. Turn the boat upside down and push in on the bottom at various locations along the hull. It should be very firm at the stems but there should be some give near the center and the material should spring right back. If you hear any cracking, forget about it.