Kargo Master Congo Cage Problem

I have a Kargo Master Congo Cage ordered for my 2007 Jeep Wrangler. The Yakima crossbar mounts from Kargo Master arrived ahead of the rack and I found that they did not fit the Yakima crossbars well. There was too much gap. Also there were so many parts (so many nuts, bolts, washers, etc) that I’m sure they’ll loosen and probably get lost.

I would like another simpler more effective solution for attaching Yakima or Thule crossbars to the Kargo Master. Anyone have one?

Can you use short segments of vinyl
hose to fill in the gaps? I assume you’re saying that the Cargo Master attachment clamps don’t grip the round Yakima bars tightly enough. As for all the screws, washers, etc., if you use the right sort of Loctite, you can ensure that the clamps don’t come off.

There is also a chance that some off-the-shelf crossbar clamp from Yakima would mate to the Cargo Master.

Surprising
I have the same setup and everything is super tight. They make a bar holder for generic cross bars perhaps you got that shipped to you instead of the Yakima mount kit? A piece of rubber hose should resolve the problem or return them and get the Yakima low rider towers.

about a zillion
little nuts, bolts and washers…but they’re still all tight.

i didn’t have that problem with the mounting brackets…first i’d call and talk to someone and verify you were sent the correct kit…if that doesn’t get you anywhere, i’d try taping the bars with black duct tape, or use take he vinyl or rubber hose suggestions below.

good ideas … thank you!
I’ll double check the mounting hardware that I got and give it another try with the Yakima crossbars and try your ideas to get the tighter fit. If that doesn’t do it, I’ll try the low riders. I’ll let you know how it goes.

the Kargo Master congo cage