Kayak Advice (Purchase)

-- Last Updated: Jun-23-08 11:16 PM EST --

I am brand new to kayaking. This question I am sure has been asked over and over, but here is my version.

I have canoed some in my life and been a couple times this season. My main purpose is to do this w/ my Lab. She is a pup now, 40 lbs, but will probably top out at 70-75 lbs when she is fully grown.

The canoe I have now is a 17' aluminum white water and is very stable, but is very difficult to paddle straight. So I started looking at kayaks.

I demoed several today, Native Marvel and Ultimate, Wilderness Pungo 140 and a Necky Manitou II. The Necky was my most favorite, followed a few steps back by the Native Marvel. I liked the Necky, it was stable and fast in the water.
I want to do day paddling in resvoirs, lakes w/ my lab as much as weekend overnight camping trips on the Potomac from say Green Ridge State Forest down through Algonkian park to the C&O Canal. The other boat that has been recommended to me is the Old Town Predator K140. The place where I demoed today did not have one of these for comparison. I am looking for someone who does, I am in Northern Virginia, so if anyone knows of a place that has these as demos, that would help.

I am hoping the OTC Predator is fast and responsive like the Necky. The hull of the Necky I think made the difference, it is a little more rounded, not so "V" shaped which w/ my lab was more stable and enjoyable.

Thanks for any advice in advance,

Doug

Canoes are better
for paddling with dogs.

2nd the canoe.
Look at a Wenonah Prism,Advantage,Voyager. relatively fast boats with lots of room and capacity.

or a Rapidfire.

I’m new too…
but I ended up with a Percetion Carolina 14 and am VERY happy with it. I use it for day trippn on a lake and small rivers. I don’t know if it is the best for a dog, not a lot of cocpit room for big dog.

large cockpit
A couple of other possibilities:

http://www.jacksonrec.com/