Kayak - bow and stern lines - tied back to cross bars

I am new to kayaking and see the need for both bow and stern lines while transporting a kayak.

There are many posts about tying the lines to tie points on the front and rear of vehicles.
I stumbled on a post somewhere - but cannot find it again - where one suggested that the bow and stern be tied back to the crossbars instead of to the front/back of the vehicle.

As there are few to zero suggestions of this, is this an ill-advised method?

If you tie them down that way, the only thing they’ll do is MAYBE keep the boat from sliding fore/aft on the racks. Won’t do a thing for keeping it from twisting in the wind, or lifting upward as you’re driving. Tying it to the car at the front and rear will keep it from sliding, and from twisting if you tie it down to both sides of the front of the car.

I’ve had racks come loose (Long time ago) on the highway, and the bow lines tied to the front of the car kept the boats and rack on top of the car long enough for me to pull over, and fix it. When they get real tight real fast, you know there’s a problem.

2 Likes

Yes, @Wayne_Smith is correct - they need to be tied directly to the car. On most roof rack setups, you are only tying the boat to the crossbars - there is nothing actually going to the vehicle. Downwards angle, and the visibility of the bow line to alert you to something amiss are very important.

These work well for me, who would otherwise struggle to find something to tie to!

2 Likes

I also use hood loops for the kayak’s bow. However, mine are the style that bolt to the frame under the hood. But my car (2014 Forester) had bolt holes ready to use. My stern straps tie to the trailer hitch. I use bow and stern tie downs nearly all the time, except when I drive the 3/4 of a mile at 23 mph (in low winds) to the local beach.