Kayak brands - budget vs quality & how to know

Hi all,
I’m new to the kayak world and have been out only a couple of times. I want to buy my own but it’s become clear that I can’t figure out how to tell the difference between a budget brand like Pelican (the only one that’s obvious to me!) and any of the rest.
I want to avoid the budget brands because I’m the type of person who looks for longevity in a purchase like this. Can anyone point me to a resource that would help sort that out?
I live in Canada if that makes a difference!
Thanks for your help!

I’m in Canada too, but that only narrows it down to 10 provinces and 3 territories. With 17,098,246 sq. km of area, Canada is second only to Russia in size, though most would agree much of that is less than desirable to live on… but I digress. Narrow it down to a geographic region so that you can get specific advice.

General advice: if it comes from a chain store, you’re probably better to look elsewhere.

Let us know what sort of paddling you (want to) do and where you plan to do it.

Look under the stuff under “Learn” (top line menu) on this site.

But frankly trying to buy the right kayak the first time as a newbie is like buying wood lathe without knowing how to turn wood. It is a tool and until you understand how the tool is supposed to work, it is nearly impossible to make a perfect choice. That is one reason everyonehere recommends biuying used.

The season and water is still warm. Find someplace to take a few lessons to learn the basics of paddling, turning and doing self-rescues. It will be less money than making the wrong first choice in a new boat. And you will have a much better idea of what you need without having lots of info thrown at you here.