Kayak Camping Trip

Good Morning, I wanted to ask a couple questions to learn from everyone’s experience. I am fairly new to kayaking, this is my second season, and I haven’t had a chance to get out much this spring because of all the rain we have been getting. The water levels in the upper potomac have been quite high.

My wife and I are planning a 3 day yaking trip. We have a tandem kayak (Pamlico 145 by Wilderness Systems)and are learning how to pack all of our gear into the boat comfortably. Where is the best place to put most of the weight. I will try to keep most of it evenly dispersed, but the front hull is more accessible than the back for larger items. Also, if we utilize the space on top of the yak (front and back) will that affect keeping the yak straight in winds?

We will be going down stream, starting at Spring Gap and want to make it to Hancock which is a little over 60 miles. Does this seem reasonable with slow current, downstream paddling? I would think that we could comfortably travel 20 miles per day, but not sure, as the longest trip we have ever done was 14 miles.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Some thoughts
1. Make sure everything is in dry bags

2. When loading just make sure the boat is trim or slightly bow light. If you are bow heavy, you will be tacking back and forth, especially on a down river paddle.

3. Affix your water which should be in plastic jugs on the rear deck or behind the seats on the rear deck.

4. You didn’t say what the current of the river is, but if it is less than 2 MPH, twenty miles should be ok, but if you want to enjoy the trip and enjoy the camping experience, I would shoot for fifteen per day and add an extra day - If it is just the challenge than go for it!

My wife and I have done many multiday trips and they are fun.

Cheers,

JackL

Did that mean you had to talk to each
other?EWWWWW!

haha
yea, well I preferred the trip to be me and the dog, but the wifey wanted to come along!

thanks