kayak camping what is the best kayak

I’m getting interested in kayak camping I currently own a hand built sof disco bay replica Greenland boat which is pretty terrible for extended trips I have very little experience with assembly line boats so I’m curious if anyone has any suggestions for kayak modules that are great for long camping trips I’m talking long trips island hoping for maybe a week or more

what are your metrics
It would help in making suggestions if you would post your height and weight, also if you have a budget in mind.

my metrics
I’m 5-10" 160lbs or so physically fit I have a fairly high budget upwards of 6,000 or so

Many choices
With a 6 grand budget I will assume you will go with a composite kayak. There are so many choices its hard to suggest. Is there any local kayak shops near by driving distance. If so tell us what brand they stock and maybe some suggestions could be made. A classic expedition kayak is a NDK Explorer. I myself was using a NDK Greenlander Pro for my kayak camping but just bought a used QCC 700x to take over for camping.

So tell us what if any the local kayak stores carry. I would say stay to at least a 17 foot long kayak for decent storage capacity.

rudder vs. skeg
Where are you located? Here in the Northwest, one would likely choose a sit-inside-kayak. There are arguments for a kayak with a skeg and for one with a rudder. But to maximize camping gear storage space, the ruddered boat is attractive because there is no skeg box in the rear hatch taking up space just where you want it.

There are occasional good deals on Craigslist. My recent acquisition via that list was to trade a smallish ‘spare’ skegged boat for a kevlar Necky Looksha IV with rudder for exactly the reason you mention - to get more camping gear storage space. I did replace the sliding foot pedals with fixed position accelerator style pedals.

If one prefers skeg boats, you can just pack more efficiently and buy more compact camping gear items.

my location