Kayak Carrier for Beginner

Hello all, I am a beginner looking to start kayak fishing in the near future. As I have started to research kayaks, I realized I would need a way to transport my kayak. Most of my trips will involve highway driving at speeds of 55-70 mph for up to an hour and a half. I have a 2005 Toyota Corolla. I am looking to get a sit on top kayak around 12 feet in length. I have seen the Riverside Car Top Universal Kayak Carrier for $60. I am not sure if this would be safe for the type of trips I would be taking. Would you recommend this carrier or do you think I should purchase a rack from Thule or Yakima? TIA

Foam Blocks work Great

– Last Updated: Apr-17-11 8:07 PM EST –

Many beginners simply use foam blocks and tie down straps

http://www.maloneautoracks.com/kayak-block-162.php

http://www.maloneautoracks.com/load-straps.php

Blocks and straps
Is it possible for one person to load a kayak onto this type of set up? Also, is this set up safe for highway travel? Thanks again

Aren’t fishing kayaks relatively heavy,
60 pounds or so compared to a 45 pound whitewater kayak? I would be concerned about your having to load it without help from a single person. I have loaded 70 pound canoes using four foam blocks around the gunwales, but I’m very tall and canoes, perhaps, are a little easier to get a hold on and up on one’s shoulders for loading from the side.

Yakima or Thule rack systems are expensive, but while they won’t lift the boat on for you, there are roller or side loader systems that may help.

Anyway, if possible, I’d recommend that you get help from a second person for the first half dozen loadings using the foam carrier system. Annoyance with your loading partner may inspire a way to load it on your own.

loading…