Kayak Cart Design Project

Hi everyone! I’m an engineering graduate student at Purdue University engaged in redesigning the venerable kayak cart. The emphasis is ease of use for elderly persons, but we feel like the resulting design will be useful for general kayaking enthusiasts as well.

Feel free to answer any mix of the questions below and add comments as you see you relevant! We’re focusing mostly on kayak carts, but open to SUP and canoe suggestions also.

Questions for everyone:

1. How satisfied are you with current kayak cart options available?

2. What design features are most important to you in a kayak cart? (big picture - i.e. weight limits)

3. Are there any features you particularly like or dislike in kayak carts? (smaller picture - i.e. wheel type)

4. Are there any features that are lacking or misunderstood by manufactures in the current cart market?

If you own or use a kayak cart:

5. How much weight do you put on your cart?

6. Would the option to tow a primarily hand towed cart with a light vehicle (i.e. golf cart or ATV) be useful?

7. Have the kayak carts you’ve used placed any limits on your kayaking experience? For example: bulky and awkward to stow, wheels unsatisfactorily traversing certain terrain, support systems unable to hold kayak, etc.

8. What do you do with your cart once you’ve gotten your kayak cart close to the water?

9. If you own a cart, how much money did you spend? Do you feel like you got good value for your money?

If you do not own, or do not use a kayak cart:

10. Why not?

11. Is the price of current cart options a limiting factor? If so, approximately what price range would make you reconsider?

12. Are there any particular features that would make purchase and/or use more appealing?

Note: If prototyped, said kayak cart will not be manufactured for profit - this is purely an academic pursuit - so I don’t think I’m violating any of the forum policies :slight_smile: