Kayak choice

I’d appreciate some advice. I am 5.10, 170lbs. I am new to kayaking, but I have been paddling canoes on lake and sea for a few years. I want to use my kayak primarily to stay fit and to enjoy the lakes and the Puget Sound, including when the weather is not the best in the middle of winter. I am considering 3 kayaks: a Wildernest Tempest 170, a Eddyline Falcon 16, and a Mariner Express. I’ve experienced the Flacon in white caps and I actually preferred the way it handles compared to the Tempest. The Mariner Express is the big question though. Matt Croze makes a very good pitch for his boat, and he almost has me convinced! Please shoot down these 3 kayaks. I want the bad and the ugly.

No help but…
I don’t own a Mariner but I’ve never talked to a Mariner owner who didn’t rave about their boat. Now that they are accepting orders again I’m really considering one (and I already have 10 [or is it 11] kayaks.)

All good kayaks…
Mariner’s are excellent well balanced designs. Guess what? You can’t bypass the seat of the pants real world experimenting with each to determine what is best for YOU. Forums just give you opinions, which, kind as they may be, are not that useful…cuz we aint YOU.

At best it’s about generalities and common observations. But even here you have to be careful, as sometimes a given model will get a bum initial legacy, but be an excellent boat.

All the above a very capable sea touring kayaks that will serve you well. You’ll know which one when you get seat time…

good, bad, ugly
“including when the weather is not the best in the middle of winter.”

I don’t know the falcon but if you’re considering a boat for bad weather you should be looking at a boat that you’ll be big in to sink it down so you don’t get blown downwind. Doesn’t the Falcon bow bury easily?

Have you tried the 16’ Night Hawk(?)I think that’s the model.

You should see if you can fit in the Tempest 165. You’re kind of light for the 170 and day paddling in high winds.