Kayak Clothing

I am a beginner kayaker hoping to buy my first kayak in the spring. Can someone give me a clue as to what kind of clothes kayakers wear?

My husband gave me a wet suit for Christmas and I thought this was kind of overkill for someone who will not be in whitewater but rather on lakes and rivers.

I saw some tops at Campmor but I’m confused as to what people wear on their legs. Shorts or pants?

Help!!

Are you talking about…
summer paddling, winter paddling, swimming weather paddling or cold weather paddling?

My wife and I are recreational paddlers and we wear the following:

If you are talking about summer when the water is warm and the air temperature is warm, my wife wears nylon or poly pro shorts and a short sleeve nylon or poly pro T shirt.

It is good to keep a light weight waterproof gortex jacket with you just in case you get into some cool rain

During the winter we both layer and on the coldest days wear long johns of lightweight polar fleece with a pair of lightweight waterproof gortex cycling pants over them. For tops we wear a poly pro either long sleeve or short sleeve lightweight jersey covered by a long sleeve polar fleece top covered by a water proof gortex jacket.

Depending on the temperature we put on and take off as required.

We both wear farmer john type wet suits on occasion in the summer if we are in a frigid temperature WW river such as the Nantahala.

Never wear cotton clothes. Even on a warm summer day, if you get wet and it turns cool you will get chilled to the bone.

Cheers,

JackL

It all depends on the temperature of
the water that you will paddling on. First Rule of Paddling: Always dress for the water, not the air.

There are about a gazillion posts on here about clothing. Try searching through the archives.

There are almost too many variables to consider to be able to prescribe “the right clothing.” Some general thoughts: