Kayak Exercise Machine

I am a Senior Mechanical Engineering student at Northeastern University. In order to graduate we are required to complete a senior design project. My project is to design and build a kayak exercise machine that will meet the demands of kayakers. The first step in the project is to gather any information on the major muscle groups that would be important for a kayaker to work. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You

Already been done
http://www.paddlemachine.com/paddlemachine/kayak.htm

I’m in the Boston area,
and own one of the two commercially available kayak machine designs. They have significant flaws. In particular, both (the Australian K1 Ergo and the newer KayakPro Speedstroke) use a pole attached to a tensioned line. The tension in this line makes the stroke feel unnatural. Maybe you can come up with a different design that avoids this problem–email me if you’d like to visit and see what I mean.

Sanjay

offer
You should definitely take Sanjay up on that offer- the KayakPro is generally regarded as the best of the indoor trainers. It would be great if you could figure out some ways to improve it. You might also write to VermontWaterways.com and see if anyone in the Boston area has their adapter for the Concept 2 rower.

Sanjay- what don’t you like about the KayakPro? I’ve heard almost all good things about it and was impressed with the feel when I used Mark W’s machine. Perhaps it is best for simulating the wing stroke?

af

An another machine…
http://www.dansprint.com

Never tried it but always wanted to.

I’m quite happy with barbell/dumbell/swissball training though.

/Peter

Hi Andrew,