Kayak fishing without a car in Boston

I recently got interested in fishing (very serious about taking it as a hobby) and I want to get into kayak fishing. Note that I am new to both, fishing and paddling.

Although I don’t have a car, I live fairly close to the water in Boston (200 feet from the Charles River and 1.5 miles from the inner harbor). However, the ideal launch location (in terms or proximity to fishing spots) is ~2miles miles from where I live. So:

• how far can an average person haul a relatively lightweight fishing kayak in a cart (mostly on the sidewalks)?
  • anyone tried pulling a kayak with a bicycle trailer?
  • can you haul kayaks on car rentals? Are there on-demand style services for hauling your kayak to and from the water?
  • how far the launch point can be from the intended fishing location? 2-3 miles is considered reasonable for a day trip?

Kayak rentals are not a good option as most rental places that are accessible to me have only Sit-In kayaks that are pretty uncomfortable for fishing and launch locations are very far from where I want to go fishing.

I have seen a few people around the Minneapolis area on bicycles pulling a kayak on a trailer. I guess it would be pretty easy to cover up to 10 miles or more like that.

1 Like

I regularly walk my boat from storage to a launch point near my home. .6 miles. The storage area is at 226 feet in altitude, the launch sea level. Makes for a slower trip back home rolling the boat uphill.

Paddling a couple of miles is also an option, if there is a closer launch point than the one optimal for proximity for the fishing. You paddle at about the same speed you would walk. I am guessing the area you are at is tidal - if you schedule the trip for when the tide would help you, then that would make it easier (but reverse happens if you get the tides wrong).

I haven’t towed a kayak behind a bike, but it is definitely possible. They do make trailers for kayaks. Bring a good lock for your bike.