Kayak fit for a paddler

Hi all,
I’ve read and chatted with other paddlers a lot about how kayaks perform differently based on what size of paddler it is intended for. I am new to sea kayaking so don’t have the experience to know how to feel those differences, but am all in and want to learn. I’m paddling mostly on Lake Ontario, along with other various lakes and rivers in Ontario.
I’m 165-170lbs, 6’ with 34"inseam, and I winter paddle, so need room for my size 12 boots in winter and decent legroom. I do day touring, 3-4 day backcountry camping trips, and am learning to surf in my CD Sirocco. I have noticed that Sirocco paddlers tend to be my height, but are 20-60lbs heavier than me, typically, so I’m wondering if this boat is too big for me.
I have a chance at what seems to be an amazing deal on a P&H Scorpio LV, but I’m wondering if I’m at the top end of the size of paddler the LV is intended for. What are your thoughts?
Tia!
p.s. @sing @Pru @Marshall one came up reasonably local to me, but I don’t know if I’ll fit in the LV :smile: aaaaaaah!!!

You are definitely under-weighting the Sirocco (BTW great boat)…I felt I was under-weight for it at 200 lbs. There was so much extra space I felt as if I could play handball in the cockpit. There was so much spare space I would have needed to use blocks of closed cell foam for a proper fit vice small pieces/sheets as with other kayaks. The Scorpio MW would be a better fit for you. Suspect the LV will be to tight for you if you can get your legs in and moreso an issue with your winter footwear.

1 Like

I found the Scorpio LV to be a very tight fit for my women’s size 8.5 feet. Definitely an MV for you unfortunately. Otherwise I liked the boat a lot the couple of times I have paddled one.

1 Like

Thanks for the response @kayakhank! Thanks for the confirmation about my underweighting my Sirocco! Everyone seems to love that boat, but it is big!