Kayak Flotation

-- Last Updated: Jun-05-05 8:55 PM EST --

Hi there.

I am relatively new to kayaking and have a question regarding some kayaks we've just purchased. We just bought two kayaks from Wildernedss Systems - a Pimlico 100 and a Pungo 120.

We use these boats to paddle in the many sheltered coves and inlets around the island we live on in coastal Maine. (We would've bought sea kayaks, but we're not sure how long we'll be here and wanted boats that would be ok for ponds and rivers if/when we move.) Occasionally, we do traverse a relatively open sound / bay or have to deal with wakes from ferries and fishing boats.

Since our boats are not sea kayaks, we are very concerned with the possiblilty of capsizing - particularly in the frigid Maine waters. Looking into the flotation issue, I was surprised to find that all the Pimlico has is two small foam blocks and the Pungo only has a rear bulkhead (nothing up front).

I'd like to add some flotation to the front of the Pungo and a little extra to both ends of the Pimlico. I've looked all over the web and found some differing advice on my options. I've heard that inflatable flotation bags can be undersized, can leak or can be washed out of the boat. I've heard that some foams are not extremely buoyant, absorb water, or harbor molds. If I were to use rigid foam - what kind of foam do I need and where can I get it??? How big should the flotation bags be for a 10' (w/150lb passenger)and 12' (w/200lb passneger) kayak???

Many thanks in advance!!!

Serious consideration is required
I own a pamlico pro. That boat was sold with maximum sized float bags front an rear and I believe they all should be. Go with tied off float bags as big as you can fit under the deck. Then practice flat water self rescues close to shore. you will see that in conditions self rescue might be more than you can handle. what if you capsize two or three times, are you ready for that?