kayak for a light woman

-- Last Updated: Jul-15-06 3:17 PM EST --

I am a female less than 120 pounds. Could anyone recommend a kayak for me?

I'd like to use this kayak on rivers and lakes, mainly flat waters but perhaps someday onto class II rapids. Although I'm a beginner, I'd like something I'd have fun with when I'm an intermediate. I like a lot of speed, prefer something that tracks straight but still has reasonable manuverability. As I'm so light, I want to make sure I don't get blown away with the wind.

Would prefer something that costs less than $1500 but could go more expensive. Hard to find used kayaks where I live so would be looking to buy new.

Thanks

small paddler
http://www.paddling.net/message/showThread.html?fid=advice&tid=457920

http://www.paddling.net/message/showThread.html?fid=advice&tid=501494

http://www.paddling.net/message/showThread.html?fid=advice&tid=491128

Small paddlers typically have two issues: finding a boat taht’s comfortable to paddle, and one that’s easy to handle on land. For most smaller folks – especally women – anything much over 40 pounds starts to get awkward. Make sure that carrying/loading/unloading is part of your demo.

At the high end, somethng like the Impex Mystic/Gale/Sea Breeze would work well if you intend to try more open-water paddling. Other light boats include the Hurricane Tampico 135Sand Necky Elaho Sport. With all these you’de be giving up whitewater capability for flat/open water performance.

In plastic boats, the Necky Manitou 13 has gotten good reviews.

If you want to play in whitewater, a used whitewater boat might be a better choice than sacrificing speed and tracking in your lake boat.

2 boats

– Last Updated: Jul-15-06 6:01 PM EST –