Kayak Garage Storage (Vapor or Ascend)

Hello All!

I’m new to Kayaking and my GF and I are looking to get a couple of kayaks (Vapor 10 or Ascend DS10) and I was wondering what anyone has done or purchased to store these in their garage on a wall? I’ve seen all types of racks and straps but my concern is that the racks aren’t wide enough to hold the kayak on its side. Has anyone run into this issue? I’m looking at getting the Malone J-Docks. Any help is appreciated.

Simple garage storage j hooks
For recreational kayaks such as yours I use simple metal j-hooks from the local big box hardware store, at about $8 each. I use these both at the girlfriends garage, and on my fence. Total cost was less than $20 per craft.

In my own garage I have no free wall space so I store kayaks overhead. If I had wall space I’d use the same thing for my sea kayaks. I can’t build or buy anything cheaper, and since they have foam on the contact surfaces and provide sturdy and secure storage, I can’t justify the extra cost for the myriad of more expensive options that are available.

J-Hooks
Can I ask what store you purchased them at and what brand? I’m looking online at Lowe’s and HomeDepot but can’t find anything that might work. The depth of all their hooks doesn’t seem like it would be enough.

Here’s an idea…
put the J hook money into buying some real kayaks

Home Depot
carries an item they call a Heavy Duty Arm Hanger, item # 697316. I built an A-frame rack and these work quite well with the slant of the A-frame for a SOT, our rec boats and sea kayaks. For vertical use on your garage wall, add a retaining strap.

Personally I would
ditch the girlfriend for one with her own airplane. She’ll take you to new heights. You’ll be much better off.

$$$$
It’s a down economy and I just want to get on the water. :slight_smile:

Leavin’ on a Jet Plane
She actually almost does have her pilots license.

Those sound like the ones I have