Kayak length

I’m looking at a kayak for mainly river use. Sometimes a lake that has motor boats. And most likely a few overnight trips. Keep in mind I’m a bit of a beginner still…maybe two summers using a kayak on a lake. Is there going to be much of a difference between a 9’ 6" kayak compared to a 11’ one? Oh, they would be the same model/series? I just want a kayak that tracks well and can turn fairly easy. From what I understand longer kayaks paddle faster. Will that extra foot and a half really matter?

If it helps, I’m about 5’6" and 120 lbs.

Thanks!

Demo a few kayaks
Try out a few different kayaks from a local

kayak shop to see the difference for yourself.

Technique matters, and stroke mechanics need

to be learned from a paddling instructor.

Yes, there is a big difference
The 9’6 kayak will turn with every stroke, while the 11 footer will track much straighter.

You would do even better to look at a 14 footer.

jack L

River Use ?
You might want to describe where you paddle on rivers. Most people that post advice here are flat water paddlers and assume you want a long boat.

Class II or higher, narrow twisty, shallow rocky, the short boat might be better or worse. It depends on the type of boat.

flat
Its flat water. Maybe class 1 rapids.

Length, design and fit

– Last Updated: May-27-12 8:10 AM EST –

In general, the longer boats start having more safety features such as two bulkheads and deck rigging, and hulls designed to do things like track and handle waves a little better. At 14 ft you get into a fairly rich array for this, at 12 to 14 feet the pack is on the thin side for these features and by 10 and 11 feet you are talking a boat that lacks these characteristics and is not intended to be a good fit for long paddles or camping use.