Kayak newbie

I’ve had a lot of experience with a canoe [+10 years] during my late teens and early adult - now 50 years old. I’d like to try kayaking on a small calm river in my area. Do you suggest getting lessons etc. or jumping in a give it a whirl? Also, what’s a good kayak and equipment for a 200 lb person with needs for creature comforts? Thanks in advance.

Jump in and give it a whirl.
But go rent some first and try them out.

If you are anywhere near a larger city, check with the kayak stores and see when they will be having a “Demo Day”, or go onto the various kayak manufacturers web sites and ask them if they are having one any where near you.

There are lots of lakes and places near the ocean where there are outfitters that rent them.

My guess is that three quarters of the kayak paddlers that you see have not taken lessons.

If you will be paddling a long distance from shore you should learn a “self rescue” which requires a paddle float and a bilge pump, and you can self teach yourself from a paddling book, but if you are just going to be in a small river there is no need to learn that at this stage.

Good luck

Cheers,

jackL

Rent and/or demo first
if you can. There’s no substitute for experience.

The only downside is that rental equipment can be pretty bad – at one livery I got a paddle that felt like rebar with a cutting board glued to each end.

As for creature comforts, lots of folks seem to like the seating and space in the Wilderness Systems Pungo 120 & 140, or the Old Town Dirigo(s).

Check the Guidelines on this site(look left)for good basic information.

At the very least…
At the very least, find someone experienced to show you how to get in and out of a kayak, both at a dock and in shallow water, and how to exit the kayak if/when you roll over.