kayak paddle drip

I bought a used sundance 12’today, my first time in a kayak, been canoeing 20+ years, I think I’m gonna like it, being closer to the water and being able to sit with legs out front. But with the long open cockpit I got wet from alot of paddle drip. The guy threw in a seuena carbon fiber paddle 87" long. Is it normal to have a lot of drip from a kayak paddle? Or is it because I’m a beginner at this. Right now I just want to do flatwater creeks. I’m 5’4".

Me too
I get some even though I use drip rings. If you don’t have drip rings on your paddle it will help. What bugs me is the drops rolling down my legs makes me think a bug is crawling on me. It drives me crazy. I use a half skirt if it isn’t too hot or sometimes I lay a light towel across my legs.

I have found…
two things contribute to excessive drip… high angle strokes (not a bad thing), and placement of the paddle with more than the blade in the water. Once I got my stroke down to where just the blade was breaching the water surface, my soakage went down substantially.

Get a half skirt or do a low angle …
stroke, (or both) and also make sure the paddle has drip rings.

My wife has the same problem. I think the water gods don’t like short people.

She won’t get in a yak unless she has a sponge with her.

Cheers,

JackL

Drip rings…
adjust them so that they are not in the water on your stroke.

How about this problem:
My excessive drip only happens with the left hand paddle. I am using a Jazz Tripper with 60 degree feather, high angle. Any clue?

Imbalance
I have found that I paddle with more blade in the water on my right side than left. I didn’t realize it until one day I stopped my stroke after finding a good rythem and noticed that my left hand was closer to the blade than my right. I corrected it, continued paddling and slowly I ended up the same way again. It may be because I am right handed and am stronger on that side. Now I am trying to correct the flaw.