Kayak Paddle question?

I’m a beginner kayak paddler and I viewed a video on how to use a paddle to help brace a kayak while entering or exiting the kayak by putting the paddle perpendicular to the kayak with one end behind the seat on top of the kayak and the other resting on shore. Tried the technique and it works great, but it pancaked my paddle shaft where it was resting on the kayak. Do I need to upgrade my paddle to some other material than aluminum?

yes
Carbon fibre.

Or
Fiberglass or wood both work well as paddle shafts too - CF will be the lightest weight for a given strength, though.

paddle…
…aluminum should not “pancake” like that …I can only assume it was a really cheap or defective shaft. Anyways, buy something in the mid-price range,that’s where you get your best value for the dollar…the carbon paddles will run ya around $400-$500, kinda expensive for most people.

Yes !
That wouldn’t have happened with a better paddle.

Another suggestion though:

Most kayakers learn to get into a kayak just the way you are doing, but there are several other methods if you don’t mind getting wet feet (like in the summer) and if the water is fairly shallow.

Just straddle the cockpit with one leg on each side. Then plunk your butt down in the seat. After that just bend your legs and bring them into the cockpit in front of you.

Jack L

Yes, butt…
I would have to break at least one law of physics to use this method as once I get my (big) butt into the seat there’s not enough cockpit opening left to get my legs in.

Jordan

It’s probably poor entry technique

– Last Updated: Jun-06-10 8:36 PM EST –

You shouldn't be putting a lot of weight on the paddle as you enter the boat, the paddle is there for balance, not support. If you do, you may break a composite or wood paddle.

Thanks for the advice.