Kayak Paddle Sizing

Just bought two Perception Sport Sound 10.5’ Angler kayaks. These yaks are 29.5" wide. Paddle sizing charts and guides indicate that I should get between 230cm - 240cm paddles.

I am 5’8", wife is 5’4". Both normal body, no extra long torso, etc.

Does this length range sound right to you? Same for both of us?

Decent beginner/intermediate paddle suggestions?

Thanks,

Jeff

Those “angler” kayaks are…
…“Sit Inside” types but they are fairly wide at just short of 30". I would think with a 4" difference in height, you’d want a shorter paddle for your wife (and possibly one with a smaller shaft diameter).

Try Aqua-Bound’s website for sizing…

http://aquabound.com/kayak-paddle-sizing-guide

I’m far from an expert but I’d say something like a 220 for you and a 210 for your wife although it would help to know - if you know yourselves! - if you are high or low angle paddlers.

And while I realize that with a $450 boat you don’t want to spend almost as much on a paddle, you’ll have the thing in your hands almost all the time you’re in the boat and you do get what you pay for, so look for some decent ones.

Aqua-bound’s Sting Ray fiberglass paddles are around $100 each - you should get them at at least 15% or 20% off in sales at the moment - and are a decent all around paddle. They make them in standard and small shaft diameters.

Suggestions

– Last Updated: Nov-25-14 4:31 PM EST –

Paddles don't have skill levels really. But a regular kayak paddle tends to get better or worse usually based on weight. With lighter weights come paddles that have more effective blades, and that tends to follow the price tag. Unless you are getting much more specialized than you would be with these boats, the numbers after the dollar sign pretty much tell the story.