Kayak Paddle Suggestions for my Canoe

Hi to the group.

I have an Old Town Pack twelve foot canoe that I like to fish out of. I would like to try a kayak paddle instead of my bent shaft canoe paddle. I have never used a kayak paddle before, so I do not know what to buy. I am six feet tall with a long torso.

Can anyone recommend a brand, type, or size for me?

Thanks to anyone who can help, Eric

Good thinking!
It took me years to realize that the yak paddle could be more efficient in a canoe.

Many to choose from, so check out the reviews, and keep your size in mind when buying, as 240 to 260 sounds ballpark for you. That is, if you are positioned near center of the canoe. 230 might work, otherwise.

You actually need to demo the paddles.

Good luck!

Bending Branches Slice
http://www.bendingbranches.com/bb-slice-glass-solo-extra-long-performance-kayak-canoe-paddle.php

I got the Bending Branches Glass Slice Solo Canoe Paddle. It’s designed for exactly what you’re looking for. I’m 6-ft. 2", and the 280cm works perfectly for me, and you’ll love BB’s quality. I carry my BB Special 54" bent shaft and alternate between the two. Bent shaft for cruising, Slice for speed, power, and exercise. Happy paddlin’, Jim

Double blades
First of all, you are still paddling a canoe, so let’s not call it a kayak paddle! But, yes, a double blade makes a great addition to your canoe propulsion arsenal.

I have used a couple and will offer some thoughts:

• I have a 240cm mohawk, aluminum shaft, plastic bladed paddle that is too much for me. The blades are large and it is too hard for me to pull the paddle through the water. It can move a canoe very well, but it is tough on my shoulders and it is heavy.
  • Weight counts more in a kayak paddle than a canoe paddle. The canoe paddle, when it is in the water, floats and supports its weight, and depending on how bouant, supports some of your arm’s weight. Kayak paddles don’t, you have to hold all the weight, all the time.