Kayak portaging.

One of my Canoecopia targets is checking out ideas for kayak portaging, whether for BWCA or dealing with detours around dams on river trips. Have found some info re mesh backpacks, duluth packs, canoe-style portage pads, and even an interesting tumpline idea in old PNet posts. Hoping someone might share some of their most recent experiences and successes. I have some experience with the mesh decoy bags with shoulder straps, and while they would be easy to load/unload, compact, and light, they would seem to lack the structure to effectively deal with any significant weight of food and gear. In other words, you’d end up with a stretched-out bag bouncing around below your butt. Better ideas?

more details

– Last Updated: Mar-05-07 4:55 PM EST –

your boat? Your length of trip? Your packing style? (personally, I can't do long trips because I pack too much food)

so let me go hypothetical (can anyone tell I am off work all day? I have posted all over these boards).
you are on a 6 day trip.
You are carrying three gallons of fresh water.
a water purifier of some sort.
18 meals (12 of them are ramen noodles).
Two pounds of GORP.
Small tent.
Back pack stove.
the paddle clothes you are wearing, your bad weather gear at the ready, and had to pack two clean outfits

I am sure I am missing things, but that is the fun of this game. if you have everything in little drybags, food, clothes, cooking, camping and the water, you can easily trim the boat, and when needed put into a large canoe-style portaging backpack. The pack will hold up for a few miles I am sure. (hey I forgot the sleeping bag) and If you could pack in a folding cart for the boat you would have it made in the shade!

I am sorry if I said anything WAY too obvious, but I have only gone camping in canoes, so converting my lack of experience there into kayaks might not have been too helpful. But I feel an average canoepack would do you just fine for the ocational portage.

Liveoutside