Kayak recommendation for 300lb person?

Hello,

I’m new to kayaking, and am wondering what would be a good kayak for for someone who is close to 300lbs. I’m interested in using it on the local lakes, though I suspect the streams around here (except the Susquahanna river) would be too shallow. Ideally I would like to pack some light backpacking gear and take it across the lake, camp, hike, then come back and move on.

I’ve looked at some of the kayaks at the local sporting good stores but I don’t know what is or is not a good deal. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

V

Hope this helps
http://www.paddling.net/message/showThread.html?fid=fishing&tid=852764

Thank you
Thank you!

I was 296 and had a Perception America
The trim was good and I had plenty of freeboard. I sold it because I wanted more manuverability and got a Prijon Cruiser. Plenty of room in the cockpit in both. I’m 210 now and still paddle the Prijon.

Congratulations Suntan! That is a
great accomplishment!

Thanks String. What a story!

Hope you’re seriously considering
a canoe as an option. Higher seating position, easier to get in and out, easier gear storage, and a canoe is just easier to size for a big person and a bunch of camping gear.

yep,
lot of big folks just aren’t comfortable with feet at butt height and a canoe seat gets you closer to having your feet under you to get out. I’d go for max stability and experiment with seat arrangements and height.

First thing needed is an honest
evaluation of your fitness. Can you get in and out of a kayak on land ? on water ? I have a large friend who needs help getting in and out of a WS Pamlico 135T set up for single use.

Didn’t consider a canoe
Hmm, I never did consider a canoe. I’ll have to go to the lake this summer and see if they rent kayak’s and give them a try. It may not be for me due to fit issues and my size. I’m 5’11", so I have a fairly large girth.

Thank you all for the suggestions, very helpful!

V

Seat Strength?