Kayak saddels for QCC700XL

Hi,

So I have been using foam saddles to hold my QCC700 onto the VW D-shaped roof racks, but in strong winds the kayak can turn sideways due to the foam saddles slipping on the rack bars and this drops the gas millage quite a bit due to the larger surface area exposed to the wind.

Looking at the Malone Seawing saddles, wondering how they will fit the D-shaped saddles on my VW racks, and the hull of my QCC700 (best all around kayak ever!). Figure they will prevent the kayak from turning in the wind since they can not deform like the soft foam saddles.

Thanks

Thule
I have been using Thule saddles on my Q700X for about three years and don’t recommend them. The hull near the front tie down is much more flexible than the area just aft of the coaming, at the rear tie down. As a result the constant flexing at the front has caused spider web gelcoat cracks.

I have switched to a foam cradle in front with the Thule in back.

Which Thule saddles are you using?
They make several.

Marco Kayak Saddles
$135 for the aerobar model. Also made in FL.

Been very happy with them instead of the typical Thule/Yakima options.

See you on the water,

Marshall

The River Connection, Inc.

Hyde Park, NY

www.the-river-connection.com

marco or mako
Both are nice. The makos are from yakima. I like them. Only way to go for long boats. Skip the rollers. Just get two sets.

Ryan L.

model
They are Thule 878XT. The rubber part just covers two sharp metal ridges. Seems like a poor design to me, and I attribute my gelcoat cracks at least partly to the saddles.

Is this possible?