Kayak Sailing--Is it worth it?

Anyone with experience kayak sailing?
How is the experience? Did it exceed your expectations or fall flat?
I’ve been looking at sails just to augment the experience, but before I sink $400 + dollars on such a niche addition, I’d like to hear from some that have gone before me.

I have no such experience, but two people I did a long trip with brought simple sails. I think they used them only once, and with a tailwind. They stopped paddling and sailed, while the other paddler and I, who were not as strong as those two, easily passed them as we kept paddling.

I asked them would it not be more advantageous for paddling AGAINST the wind instead? They said they would need a more complex sail set-up to use in an adverse wind.

Do you already know how to sail? Maybe it’d be worth taking a few sailing lessons to answer your question.

I am a sailor. Sailed small boats (like lazers) as a kid. Currently member of a keel boat sailing school/club and take out 30-45’ boats once a month of more.

I have some of the downwind kayak sails. Mine are by Wind Paddle, but that company might have gone out of business. This type of sail: https://amzn.to/32Kq9JE. That said, I don’t use them. First, they are downwind only, so you need to paddle up to a place and then ride back. This seems of limited use. Plus my boats are all skeg boats, and this wold be much easier with a rudder boat (you can use a paddle as a rudder, but that gets challenging to do with also needing to hold the sail control lines).

A friend works at a shop that sells Hobie and we have taken out their demo Adventure Island boats. These were fun and if they weren’t so expensive I might consider getting one.