kayak selection and chine type

I am looking for my first kayak. While I am new to this I am very active and athletic and expect to really jump in with both feet. Most of my paddling will be on large rivers such as the Mississippi which can get choppy as well as some smaller lakes. I would like an efficient kayak that I will not quickly outgrow as my skills advance. I have tried several yaks and sat in many. The leading options right now are a necky zoar sport, a perception eclipse (16 or 17ft) or a Dagger Exodus 16.5. I am not able to try these out but they are all the exact same price. I have read good reviews of the Zoar, mixed on the Eclipse and can find none on the Exodus.

My question for anyone that has input is how much of a step up are the Eclipse and Exodus from the Zoar which is aimed at beginners? The Zoar and Eclipse were equally comfortable, the Exodus less so but certainly not bad, just more confining. The other issue is the Eclipse has very soft chines versus the Exodus having very defined. Does either hull type lend itself to more advanced paddling? I am excited to learn some edging and leaning techniques so my assumption was that harder chines would be better for this. What would be the advantage of a more rounded hull like the Eclipse other than a little easier turning at the expense of tracking speed?

If these 2 boats are not really a step of from the Zoar please say so as well. The Zoar is in my preferred color…I just would hate to walk away from an appreciably better boat if the Eclipse or Exodus are better when I can get them at the same price.

Don’t worry about chines
The water doesn’t. Most performance variables people claim are dependent on chines are not.

I have a long boring post about chines around here somewhere…

Zoar Sport