Kayak selection

-- Last Updated: Jul-30-14 4:06 PM EST --

I am getting ready to buy my first kayak, and have narrowed my selection to either the Perception Carolina 12, which I demo'd and loved, or the Perception Sport Conduit 13, which I would not be able to demo before purchasing. I will be paddling mostly on lakes, creeks and slow rivers, and plan on doing some overnight trips with a local kayaking group. Basically, my question is, which kayak? Would the Conduit 13 serve my purposes as well as the Carolina 12, and would it be a kayak that I would want to hold onto as my skills improve? And why is the Conduit 13 so much cheaper? Is it a less well-made, less reliable kayak? I'd appreciate any help you could give me!

kayak selection ---- go with the 14 ft
i am certainly no expert, but thought i would offer my advice as i have been paddling for a few years now.

i would actualy scale up and go with a 14 footer…and perception does make the carolina in a 14 foot model, so it would be very similar to the model you tried out.

the advantage being the dual bulkheads, and longer waterline. the bulkheads will allow you to get in bigger water with some additional safety — it wont sink with 2 bulkheads. the longer waterline will make it easier to keep it tracking straight, or as straight as it can go.

i had gone back and forth on a similar choice when i started paddling, and went with a 14 footer ---- never will regret it. now that i am more experienced i like the fact that i can go out in bigger water, practice self rescues, go on overnight trips, etc, etc.

spend another 100 bucks and you will not regret it – these boats last forever.

good luck!

correction
just noticed that the Carolina 12 does in fact have 2 bulkheads, so my earlier comments on that aspect can eb tossed aside.

the 14 foot model will still be faster, and have more storage though.

just wanted to correct my previous post! hahaha.

cheaper build

– Last Updated: Jul-30-14 9:11 PM EST –