Kayak Speed

On average, a beginner kayaker in moderate condition can paddle a 14 foot recreational kayak against current flowing _____ MPH/knots and not get swept out to sea and die.

On average, that paddler is toast.

Is this a question?
From my experience as a beginner, I could paddle the Tsunami 145 at an easy 4 mph for hours, at 4.5 for may be 1 hour without many breaks, and can burst to about 6 for short distances (not sure - hard to keep track precisely).

With less effort, a I seem to be doing about 25% better with my new P&H Outlander on cruising. And once I fix the darn seat (too small for me, really and not bad otherwise), I should be able to do this in hopefully at least the same comfort as in the Tsunami -:wink:

Speed vs Time
Many beginners can paddle quite fast for short distances but can they maintain that pace for and hour or more? Just because a person is physically fit does not always mean that they will have much paddling endurance. Where I live in North Florida coastal currents are 3+ knots when the tide is rolling in or out. I have many folks who want to visit Cumberland Island, Ga. Where we launch at Fernandina, Fl (Fort Clinch)it is less than a mile accross the St.Marys River. The tide charts say that it is only about a 3 knot current through there but the channel bouys are bent over throwing 4 foot rooster tails. Add a light breeze and 1-2 swells and you are pushing the safe limit for beginners. When we ferry across most beginners are worn out by the time we get to CI. I normally plan these trips so that the tide is coming in for the return trip so that if the beginner gets tired from paddling they won’t be going out to sea if they have trouble making the return trip.

Maybe skip the outgoing tide
It seems like it’d be a better idea to test paddling limits against an incoming tide while learning, as someone mentioned below.