Kayak suggestion for shallow, slower river in Michigan

I am new to kayaking but we just bought a house on a shallow (2-4 ft deep), slower (200-300 cubic ft/sec) river here in central Michigan (Pine River). Our house backs up to the river and I’d like to build a kayak for taking day trips on the river; the river is approximately 75-100 ft wide. I’m 61 yrs old, 5’8’’ tall, 175 lbs with size 10 shoes and in fairly good condition. I’ve been looking at the Pygmy Boats Pinguino 14 or Pinguino Sport (13’) as possible candidates, along with the Pygmy Coho or Arctic Tern 14. Any advice or suggestions on these boats or other options would be greatly appreciated.

Best regards,
Kent

Ask Pygmy for a recommendation. Also , talk to CLC.
Then buy a Pungo.

PS. I’m jealous! Building a boat is a wonderful project. I have built 3 from plans and 2 from kits. I helped another person build an Arctic Tern. It is a fast, seaworthy sea kayak .
My personal preference for a lazy river is a comfortable craft I can chill in. I also couldn’t stand having water in my back yard and taking the time to build.

Since Kent may not know what “CLC” is, here’s the link: http://www.clcboats.com/

Always great to see another Michigan paddler here.

I second the CLC boats. Had a chance to paddle a few of them and find them excellent. Come in all shapes and sizes and anyone handy with basic tools can build one.

I’m not too far south of you (Mason) and have a Pygmy Arctic Tern 17’. I’m few years older but close in height & weight although feet are smaller. There is also a Tern 14 locally although it is set up for a small woman. I’m often out at the club (LOAPC) Monday night paddles on Lake Lansing if you wanted to give it a try. Join the meet_up (http://www.meetup.com/Lansing-Oar-and-Paddle-Club/ ) to see the schedule or send me a PM or something.