Kayak suggestion for tall/slender guy?

Hello All,

I’m a beginner/intermediate paddler that’s a bit rusty, but hoping to get back on the water after a 2 year hiatus.

I wonder if anyone could recommend a kayak for someone tall and slender. Specifically, I’m 6’ 7" x 210lbs x size 14’s. I’ve paddled a plastic Perception Eclipse on several outings, including a week on the French River / Georgian Bay. The boat fits, but at times felt a bit cramped at the feet.

I have an opportunity to test / purchase a demo’d P&H Capella 173 (glass.) From what I’ve read, it sounds like a respectable boat, but possibly better suited for a heavier paddler.

I’d welcome any kayak recommendations, especially from others who should be dribbling rather than paddling!

Many thanks in advance…

Here is a list
I posted a few weeks ago:

http://www.paddling.net/message/showThread.html?fid=advice&tid=920578

We have the same shoe size and weight but you have me by almost half a foot taller. You may need to consider foaming the bulkhead out and not using foot pegs if your legs are too long due to your height. Though some of the boats listed above had plenty of room to spare for my 6’1" build. Damn shoe size usually gets me. For comfort combined with performance, I am still favoring the Eddyline Fathom though I still want to try a few more boats. And of course there is the sit on top route as an option as well.

17" artic Tern high ; a kit from Pygmy
designed for big feeted peeples.

Impex
I don’t think the Impex Assateague, in standard form, will have enough legroom for you. I’m 6’2" and the footpegs need to be moved ever so slightly forward past the last stop.

That’s the bad news - the good news I believe is that they can move the forward bulkhead for you. If you’re interested in the Impex, I would encourage you to post your question at http://www.impexkayak.com/chat/index.php I think you’ll be surprised at the level of support from Impex.

Capella is a good boat