Kayak Suggestions Please...

Hello Everyone,

I currently have a Liquid Logic whitewater boat which I love but I am looking for something more recreational to add to my fleet. I normally paddle rivers in NC. I am just getting into whitewater but I do not paddle this all the time so I need a more versatile boat. Something to do slower rivers on that have the occasional class 2-3 run every so often. I tried paddling these with my whitewater boat but it was a real pain keeping up with the rec boats on flat water. I am torn between getting a sit on top and getting a rec sit inside boat. BTW I owned an old town rush when I first started boating but do not want something where it is tough to get in and out of. If I get a sit in I would like it to be really open in the cockpit. If possible I would like to spend no more than 300 for this as it is a 3rd boat for me and the wife is getting a little tired of me adding boats to our shed. LOL I really like that new Liquid Logic Coupe I saw online the other day. Does anyone have any suggestions on favorites based on my post? BTW I am around 6 feet 180lbs. Thanks!

The $300 limit makes it tough, because
relatively fast rec boats may not come on the used market for that low a price.

If I were buying new, I would look at the LL Remix XP10 and then maybe at the Necky Manitou or at the Liquid Logic rec kayaks designed to cover ground. A touring kayak (like my old Necky Looksha Sport) would be faster still, but less handy in occasional rapids, and it would draw more water making for problems in shallow shoals.

Tell your wife there is a monetary stimulus program for aquiring at least a dozen boats.

manitou 13
The Necky Manitou 13 is a great rec boat with a reasonably large cockpit (maybe not as big as you’re looking for); I bought one on sale last year for $750.

Kayak Suggestions Please…