Kayak taking on water(help)

anyone ever fixed a kayak by plastic welding?

My wifes hobie sport is taking on water with a hairline crack. I have identified the problem area and i am trying to find the best solution for a permanent fix

I am a little wary of glues and bonds- i am afraid it will penetrate the crack and then expand it into a bigger problem.

I ordered a kayak fix welding kit but I have no experience in this. The KC welder pro which comes with some Hobie color rods to use

all suggestions helpful

thanks,

chris

G/Flex
Some folks have reported good luck with the west Systems G/flex epoxy. It’s designed for hard-to-bond surfaces.

http://www.westsystem.com/ss/g-flex-epoxy/

In theory, you’d use it to put on a glass cloth patch.

thanks
thank you for the response. I will research and check it out. really hope i can get everything taking care of. Do not have the budget for another kayak right now

Can you get at the crack from inside
the boat? If so, there is a cheap, long-lasting fix called Whaley welding. Successive layers of duct tape are applied with a hot iron, and then pressed more firmly in place with the convex surface of a spoon. If you can get at the inside, I will dig up the reference.

Plastic welding would be great if you have someone with a hot hand, or if you develop the knack yourself. Get a poly garbage can lid and practice.

G-flex may work without added glass, if the cracked area will not be under high stress. The technique(s) are shown on West Epoxy’s technical pdfs. They would trench the outside of the crack to make room and to assure the epoxy can grab both sides of the crack. Then they use a propane torch to briefly flame and oxidise the crack surfaces. Flaming tremendously improves bonding of epoxy to poly. G-flex is flexible enough to bend with the poly, unlike most epoxies.

My WW friends
fix kayaks by covering the crack with duct tape and hitting it with a torch.

cheap permanent fix