Kayak trailer modification to add storage box

Hello everyone,

I need a little advice on how to secure a storage box like Yakimas’ rocketbox pro 11 on a Triton WV-1500 trailer.
I had tried contacting the place of purchase about setting this up, but they have currently gone silent on this and I have not been able to call them through the work hours.

He did say that they mount some bars down near the frame for the box to clamp on to.

I am totally clueless as to how to and what to use. Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.
Thank you.

I’m no expert. It looks like the rocket box attaches to roof rails on top of a car normally. You will need 2 bars on the trailer to simulate roof rails. I would try and keep one of them across the Y in the frame and one across the tongue. Looks like there are some holes in the tongue already.

If they don’t make adapter bars you will have to rig something yourself from pieces of box tubing or something.

I think if you lay the box on the trailer where you want it you will get an idea of what you need to add.

There are two uprights that support the front kayak support bar. Are those uprights spaced widely enough for the storage box to fit in between? If not, that will restrict where you can mount the storage box.

Otherwise, as bud16415 said, you can mount cross bars to the trailer and mount the box to those. To keep it simple, you could buy some Thule square bars for the cross bars and perhaps attach them to the trailer using U-bolts.

Also, if you plan to carry much weight in the storage box you don’t want it too far forward. It would increase the tongue weight too much. Better would be under the kayaks, centered a foot or so forward of the axle.

Do you have any additional pics of the trailer?
Do you want to have access to the box while the kayaks are on the trailer?
What size Rocket Box are you looking at.