Kayak trolly

Aloha earthlings. Looking for advice on a trolly . Can any one recommend one that folds and fits in hatch. I’ve seen a few online where the wheels can be removed , my concern is the metal frame not fitting in the hatch maybe due to an awkward shape. Greetings , salutations and muchos danke in advance.

From previous posts C-Tug seems to be very popular, although fairly expensive. Breaks down easily and will fit in most rear hatches. However, you really have to try it to be sure.

My wife and I have been using Wheeleez carts for over 10 years. The frame just barely fits in the hatches of a Necky Arluk 1.9 and a QCC 600. These brand name carts are also fairly expensive, but ones that are essentially identical can be found for less than half the price. This style of cart is also very popular.

THere are a number of carts that are much smaller, but carts with small wheels generally are less stable and smaller wheels do not work as well on rough surfaces. Most carts do not work very well on sand unless equipped with sand tires. These tires can be bulky and expensive compared to standard tires. They are an option when ordering some carts.

1 Like

I have a C-Tug and it does fit in my rear hatch. Just to clarify, you would only transport such a large kayak cart on a day trip, not a camping trip, because it’s quite large even broken down and takes up half of a large rear hatch. I usually prefer to find a secluded place near the launch where I can hide the cart, but sometimes I carry it with me when there’s no place to leave it or I don’t intend to return to the same launch point. C-Tugs are heavy, but they’re also robust. Mine can comfortably carry my kayak loaded with camping gear. It rolls effortlessly over flattish terrain, but takes quit a bit of effort to pull it a long distance up a steep hill. Mine has inflatable tires.