kayak weight

Hi everyone.

I’m new to kayaking, love it.

How important is boat weight??

Does it make much of a Difference having a boat ten pounds or so lighter, once in the water.

I am 6 foot tall, about 165 pounds.

My boating is on lakes and reservoirs.

Cost is not an issue.

Also, is it worth it to buy a light expensive paddle??

How does one know what type of paddle to use??

Thank all of you very much.

Dave

Paddles
How does one know what type of paddle to use? You could be a loser like me and buy 3 or 4 euros just to wind up selling them. Or… you could save yourself time and money and just buy a Greenland paddle right from the start.

Lighter is easier on a long trip

– Last Updated: Nov-13-10 11:32 AM EST –

the less weight you are paddling, the easier it will be on you, plus you will be able to go faster than a heavier boat.
If you take the same paddler and put him in a plastic boat, and then in the same model composite boat, (which is lighter), he will be able to go farther and use less energy in the composite boat
It is basically the same with the paddle.
The lighter the paddle the more miles you will be able to go before you get fatigued.

Most people start with a euro style paddle.

If you want to go fast and get into racing you will need a wing paddle.

I won't comment on a greenland paddle, since I have tried them numerous times and don't like them.
Others, like brother Kudzu love them!

Before you buy any kayak, try to demo the one you want to get.
What is a good boat for one person might be a terrible boat for another.

Jack L

As I always say…
There are no light boats at the end of the day. They all feel heavy at the and of a long day on the water. But light boats are more of an advantage between the car and the water.

I have owned multiple copies of the same canoes in different layups with vastly different weights and on the water I havent really noticed any difference between them.