Kayak Winter Storage Question

Is it okay to store a kayak on the garage floor instead of mounting it to a wall?

I received an email from an outfitter with this tip:

“If you own a garage you can easily get the boat off the floor and out of the way by hanging it on a wall or from the ceiling.”

Is this merely a shortage of space issue and they’re trying to sell me something? Or can storing a kayak on the floor actually damage my kayak?

I’m kinda new to the sport … if you can’t tell.

Plastic of glass?
Suppose it is possible that a plastic could deform over time, depending on how the boat sits. But I’ve heard that more when the boat heats up in the sun.

Depends
Most plastic kayaks can be left flat on the floor without damage to the hull. Some people keep some foam under them for support. Hanging from the ceiling in slings or on a rack does tend to get them out of the way and frees up storage space so it’s not a bad idea.

You should try some paddling during the cooler months. It’s great to paddle year round in warmer areas and with proper clothing you can extend the paddling season. I have a sit on top for Summer, the rest are used year round.

I do kayak in colder months
I went last year when there was ice on the lake. I do not own a wet suit but I have a kayak skirt for paddle drips and a nice Marmot jacket.

My kayak is plastic in case anyone is wondering.

hang it
I have mine on the wall, simply to get them out of the way, but I also have plenty of wall space. A couple of $5 hangers from Home Depot and an old cargo strap. Here are some pics.

http://home.earthlink.net/~mwsjb/pictures/hanger2.jpg

http://home.earthlink.net/~mwsjb/pictures/hanger1.jpg

We have 12 kayaks stored in one of
our garages.

Three on a triple sling on the wall. Two on their sides on a shelf, and the rest stored on the sides on the floor.

They do sit on old carpet and we’ve never had any deformation. They’re stored in the garage all year.

I use my j racks in the winter