Kayak with High seatback?

Springtime Greetings, fellow kayakers!

I’ve been paddling Wilderness Systems Pamlico 100 for past several months. It’s overall a great kayak but my back aches because of luck of backrest support. Its seatback is only 13 inches high vs 15” for my Emotion Temptation SOT. I see that Pungo 100 might be a perfect choice for me where I can extend seatback to 18 inches high! I hope, I’ll find it on craigslist for a good price. If not, what other options do I have? Has anyone found an easy way to put a good backrest? Any other ~10ft sit-in recreational kayaks (w. large cockpit) with high seatbacks out there?

Thank you for any suggestions you can provide!

Happy paddling!

Paddling posture

– Last Updated: Mar-17-12 7:50 PM EST –

Some might say it's a lack of core muscles affecting
the back and it has nothing to do with the seat.

Leaning back while sitting makes paddling difficult.

Most kayakers use extremely low seats
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lef_ut8n0ms

Now if you merely want a floating couch platform
-well, that ain't exactly kayaking, it's floating.

Prefer Low Back Support
My VOLKSKAYAKs use really simple seating - a folded ThermaRest 3/4 sleeping pad under me, and a carved or improvised backrest jammed under the aft cockpit rim. I can stay in the boat for hours without discomfort.

http://www.paddlinglight.com/articles/the-simplest-of-seats/

As Willie noted above, posture is key - my back seldom touches the backrest when I’m underway. I lean slightly forward, and use body rotation to get higher-arm (blade in air) ‘pushing’ power from the big back and shoulder muscles, rather than ‘pulling’ power from the far weaker lower-arm (blade in water) muscles. Paddling while ‘sitting back’ leads to the exact reverse - the arms ‘pull’ the boat thru the water, and it is really tiring, especially on the lower back.