Kayaker seeking canoe advice

-- Last Updated: Mar-21-12 9:08 AM EST --

Long time kayaker seeking advice on paddling a tandem canoe solo.

Scenario: Mad River Explorer 16, slow current rivers (1-2 mph) and considering the best method to paddle solo and/or with a dog to fish or camp.

I have searched the archives and read several articles online and am getting conflicting info. Should I add ballast in the bow such as water filled bags and paddle from the rear seat? Or turn the boat around and paddle from the "front seat" backwards? Or kneel in the middle right at the thwart? (Bad knees, might have to creating a seat!)

Lastly, should I learn the canoe strokes or use my *** 240 *** cm kayak paddle? (cannot type either!) Seemed more natural to use my kayak paddle, but that is my comfort zone.

Despite me being a true canoe rookie, I really like the flexibility to haul gear and fish. But sure is different from my long boats!

Thanks for the advice and tips, really want to learn to canoe....

Rob

seriously, I’d experiment
it seems to me so much “gospel” is preached that perhaps some people never really find out what’s best for them. You’ve got a few variables, size and hyperactivity of your dog, your size and strength etc…but personally, I’d take the boat out on a calm stretch, maybe even a lake, bring your double blade, grab a single blade or 2 in different lengths, and try various seating arrangements. I know Riverstrider has a sweet clamp on seat for his MRE, allowing optimal seating position. My buddy Beavertail, who goes off on 3 week solo adventures, was seen paddling his MRE from the rear seat. Another bud Jay was paddling my aymetrical Dumoine backwards from the front seat, definite violation of P-net mandates, but it kept him happy for 15 miles…

options