Kayaking Advice for a Newbie

Good evening!

I am in the market for a quality, sit-on-top kayak. I will primarily be using the kayak for the purpose of Class A and Class I rapids (slow moving rivers/gentle rapids). I can’t assuredly guarantee that the kayak won’t experience the ocean once or twice during its lifetime, but it wasn’t a factor in my kayak search. I’m mainly looking for something that will allow me to experience and partake in nature’s beauty. Because I am a newbie, and I can’t be confident that I will be 100% dedicated to this hobby three months from now or even next year, I have set a strict price ceiling of $500 (for the kayak only). I also know that I should expect to spend at least $100 for a decent paddle. I have scoured Craig’s List for several months, and I haven’t been able to find exactly what I’m looking for. I found numerous fishing kayaks, whitewater kayaks, and extremely used kayaks, but I have struggled to find a suitable recreational kayak. After a dealer strongly suggested the “Cadillac of Kayaks,” aka Wilderness Systems Tarpon 100, I oohed and aahed over it for a few weeks, and ultimately decided that I could probably find something slightly more reasonable that better fit my needs. I rented a Jackson Riviera a few months back, and I enjoyed the length and it seemed stable, but it wasn’t overly comfortable.

As a conscious, price-discerning consumer, I would prefer something of higher quality than the brands/models with lower price points (and probably quality) that most big-box stores advertise. I’ve spent countless hours researching kayaks, and I have essentially narrowed my search down to two: Perception Tribe 11.5 and Emotion Temptation 11. After shipping and all other costs (pick up for one of them, taxes, etc.) have been considered, the difference between these two models varies by a marginal amount ($25). Both boats are brand new. With that being said, I have a couple of hesitations regarding both: