Kayaking and photography/camera gear in 2019...

I have been a photojournalist and commercial photographer since the late 1980s. I have a lot of cameras and lenses. None of which really matches well with kayaking. Yesterday I paddled around Mountain Lake at the top of Orcas Island. The scenery and light was perfect for photography. I had my iPhone stored in a waterproof box in one of the hatches, but fumbling for a vulnerable phone is just asking for trouble.

I know a ton of kayakers use mounted GoPro cameras which can be very cool. But I hate the fisheye distortion with these cameras. I want a “real” camera that is waterproof (without deep scuba diving specs), with a decent zoom range, exposure control, RAW capture, etc, that I can tether to the deck.

After doing some digging I am interested in the “Tough” cameras that Olympus has: https://www.getolympus.com/us/en/tough

There are serious waterproof housings for some cameras but they add bulk, are fiddly to use and are quite expensive.

So, fellow paddler photobugs, what are you currently using?

Thanks!

1 Like

I use a Panasonic Lumix something-5. Very sturdy, but too hard JPEG-compression and no raw format. I have had my eyes on the Olympus cameras because of the raw format.

@PhotoMax ,

It sounds like you shoot landscape, rather than wildlife, from kayak; because lenses of Olympus Tough series are not long enough for most wildlives. So my comments probably won’t help you much.

I put my micro four thirds camera (Oly E-M1 mk1 with Panasonic 100-300mm f/4-5.6 mk2) into a large leak proof box with locking lips. My camera and lens combo is rain proof but will probably die in submersion (so I don’t do Eskimo rolls when camera is out of dry box).

My camera box stays near my butt inside kayak and is tied to kayak with carabiner clips. I paddle as usual. If I see interesting wildlife or birds, I stop, drop anchor sometimes, take out camera and shoot. Then I put camera back to dry box and continue to paddle.